Posted in RESENSI BUKU

I’m Still Here (Je Suis Là) – Clélie Avit

I’m Still Here (Je Suis Là) by Clélie Avit, translated from French by Lucy Foster.

I finished reading this books in few hours, it only 246 pages.

I was intrigruing on this book as soon as I read the synopsis. It’s about Elsa whom already 5 months in coma, but she began to partially concious and able to hear for five weeks, without anyone realize it.

The whole story took place during her coma state. It’s her monologue on what she perceive with her limited sensory. And there come a guy, whom randomly enter Elsa room to take a nap. But something drawn him to her and unconsciously he keep coming back to visit. He start talking to Elsa; and for Elsa, he is the rainbow in her gloomy world.

I can’t really explain what i feel as i finish it. It’s too short,  I love if there’s sequel for this. Even though the book center around someone who is in coma, it give warm feeling when reading it. It give hope and joy.

“Thibault comes over and kisses my cheek. I imagine my father stiffening. He has no idea who Thibault is – neither do I, of course – and seeing a stranger kiss your daughter must provoke some sort of reaction”.
(I can’t stop laughing reading this, hilarious considering the situations 🤣🤣).

This book is marked as psychological fiction. It’s unique and refreshing, tale of life and hope. How simpe encounter can change people life, or even save life.

Please make a sequel, the recovery process could be a whole new novel with these two leads characters 🤣.

My rating: 5/5
I love this book, seeing this this beautiful hardcover spark joy in me. I’m intend to sell of most of the stand alone book, but this is too precious and i will keep this..hahaha.

Leave a comment